The Behind the Black Mask Lineup (2006-2008)

Between 2006 and 2008, Clute and Edwards had the privilege of interviewing the best contemporary hard-boiled and mystery authors. Each episode of Behind the Black Mask focuses on a single recent novel written by the guest author within a larger discussion of craft and the writing life.

To visit our original podcast page, with the episodes listed in chronological order with show descriptions, click here or go to

To subscribe to our podcast at iTunes:

Here is an alphabetical list of authors we interviewed:

Megan Abbott
Charles Ardai (aka Richard Aleas)
Ken Bruen
Chelsea Cain
Carol Higgins Clark
Jane K. Cleland
Reed Farrel Coleman
Mark Coggins
Max Allan Collins
Michael Connelly
David Corbett
Christa Faust
David Fulmer
Allan Guthrie
Seth Harwood
Harry Hunsicker
Rian Johnson
Laurie King
Tim Maleeny
Paul Malmont
Tee Morris
PJ Parrish
Scott Phillips
George Pelecanos
Danuta Reah
Jonathan Santlofer
Theresa Schwegel
Kevin Burton Smith
Jason Starr
Stolen Chair Theatre Group
Duane Swierczynski

Clute and Edwards, 2005-2012